Saturday, 4 February 2012

Daredevils seeks to be competitive through the season

NEW DELHI: The fifth season of Indian Premier League gets under way on Saturday with the Player Auction in Bangalore, letting the teams have rosters of up to 33 players. Delhi Daredevils has aimed to make the necessary additions so that the remains competitive throughout the coming season.

This will be in keeping with GMR Sports’ Business Chairman Kiran K Grandhi’s vision of ensuring that the team would overcome the disappointments of last season and become most competitive again. The first steps were taken when Eric Simon was elevated as Head Coach and TA Sekar returned as Delhi Daredevils Mentor after two seasons.
The addition of England’s Kevin Pietersen, traded from Deccan Chargers last month, as also the signing up of exciting talent from the domestic circuit were part of the revamp process. Delhi’s left-handed allrounder Pawan Negi and gutsy wicket-keeper batsman Punit Bisht as well as Gujarat’s exciting strokeplayer Manprit Juneja and Saurashtra’s Kuldeep Raval are the new signings.
“We are delighted to have signed up talented cricketers we spotted on the domestic circuit this season,” Sekar said. “Together with picking up Pietersen this season, we have been taking the steps necessary for us to become a competitive squad again. We are confident that we will have the right mix of players to choose from for all our games this season.”
The 28 players who are on the Delhi Daredevils muster as of Saturday morning are Virender Sehwag (captain), Kevin Pietersen, Irfan Pathan, David Warner, Umesh Yadav, Varun Aaron, Naman Ojha, James Hopes, Morne Morkel, Aaron Finch, Ajit Agarkar, Ashoke Dinda, Roelof van der Merwe, Venugopal Rao, Travis Birt, Colin Ingram, Unmukt Chand, Robin Bist, Avishkar Salvi, Vikas Mishra, Prashant Naik, Yogesh Nagar, Shahbaz Nadeem, Tejaswi Yadav, Pawan Negi, Manprit Juneja, Kuldeep Raval and Punit Bisht.

1 comment: